Understanding Childfreedom

Posted: June 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

The other day I was chatting with a dear friend of mine on Facebook. She had a baby a couple of months ago, and has been incredibly busy in her new role. As usual, we got around to discussing children, and the issue of one of our common friends being unable to conceive. I jokingly, told her how I was a bad influence on her, owing to my decision of being childfree. My friend also told me (mush to my amusement) as to how I would naturally want a child after a year or two. I told her that I had decided to go the childfree way. She asked me what ‘childfreedom’ meant. For a split second, I could not believe she asked me that! It struck me then how alien the term sounded to someone on the opposite end of the spectrum. I laboriously explained how I had been reading literature on childfreedom. She was a tad shocked. I guess people close to me have always believed that I am loony. Perhaps my decision was just an extension of who I was.

As I signed out of the chat I wondered what childfreedom meant to me; in the context of my life…and I realized it is the desire for people to understand that being childfree is a choice. It is has nothing to do with the ability to have a child. Rather, it is the decision not to. Just like we don’t question the decision of people who choose to have children (asking somebody why they had a child would be considered rude, as it was the natural thing to do), we wouldn’t like to be answerable to the world at large for choosing not to procreate. Is that too much to ask?

 

Leave a Reply

